Loving Summer By Carole Brungar: Review and Summary

Loving Summer (Return to Nam #4) by Carole Brungar | Goodreads

Loving Summer: A Critical Analysis

In “Loving Summer”, author Carole Brungar takes readers on an emotional journey through the perspective of Summer, a young woman who is forced to confront the demons of her past as she returns to Vietnam years after the end of the Vietnam War. The fourth book in the “Return to Nam” series, “Loving Summer” is a powerful exploration of love, loss, and the complexities of family relationships.

Main Themes and Ideas

The main themes in “Loving Summer” revolve around the aftermath of the Vietnam War, family relationships, love, and loss. Brungar deftly examines the psychological scars of war, both on those who fought in it and their loved ones. Through the character of Summer, Brungar portrays the impact of PTSD on soldiers and their families, and the challenges in overcoming past traumas.

The complex relationships between family members are also a significant theme in the book. Summer’s strained relationship with her mother, who abandoned her and her siblings when they were young, is a central plot point. Brungar explores the difficulties of forgiving and moving on from past hurts and reconciling with those who have caused us pain.

At its core, “Loving Summer” is a love story. Summer meets and falls in love with a Vietnamese man named Tuan, who guides her through her journey of self-discovery and healing. Their relationship, though filled with obstacles, is a testament to the healing power of love and the human spirit.

Writing Style and Effectiveness

Brungar’s writing style in “Loving Summer” is engaging and empathetic. She skillfully weaves together the different themes and storylines, creating a rich and layered narrative. The trauma and emotional pain experienced by the characters are palpable, and the descriptions of Vietnam are vivid and evocative.

Overall, Brungar’s writing is effective in conveying the complex emotions and themes of the book. Through Summer’s perspective, she creates a powerful and authentic portrayal of the impact of war and the journey of healing and reconciliation.

Strengths and Weaknesses

“Loving Summer” has many strengths, including its well-crafted characters, engaging writing style, and thoughtful exploration of important themes. The relationship between Summer and Tuan is particularly well-developed, and their love story is both touching and impactful.

However, one of the weaknesses of the book is its slow pacing. The narrative moves at a leisurely pace, which may be frustrating for readers looking for faster-paced, action-driven plots. Additionally, some readers might find the ending a bit too tidy and predictable.

Comparison to other Works in the Genre

“Loving Summer” is similar to other works in the genre that explore the long-term impacts of war on those involved. However, Brungar’s focus on the psychological and emotional aftermath of war sets it apart from other books that focus on the physical violence of war.

The book also stands out for its incorporation of Vietnamese characters and culture, providing a unique perspective on the post-war period. Brungar’s sensitive portrayal of both Vietnamese and American characters adds depth and complexity to the narrative.

Overall Impression and Recommendation

Overall, “Loving Summer” is a compelling and thought-provoking read that will resonate with readers. Brungar’s engaging writing style and sensitive portrayal of complex emotions make it a standout in its genre.

While its slow pacing may not appeal to all readers, those who enjoy character-driven stories with a focus on emotional healing and exploration will find much to appreciate in this book.


Who is the author of “Loving Summer”?

The author of “Loving Summer” is Carole Brungar.

What is the genre of “Loving Summer”?

“Loving Summer” is a work of fiction that falls into the genres of contemporary literature, romance, and historical fiction.

What is the “Return to Nam” series?

The “Return to Nam” series is a collection of books that explore the experiences of Vietnam War veterans and their loved ones in the years following the war. Each book in the series focuses on a different character and their journey of healing and reconciliation.

Is “Loving Summer” part of a series?

Yes, “Loving Summer” is the fourth book in the “Return to Nam” series.

Does “Loving Summer” require knowledge of the other books in the series?

No, “Loving Summer” can be read and understood as a standalone novel. While knowledge of the other books in the series may add depth and context to the narrative, it is not necessary for understanding the story.

Leave a Comment